Ethics in Advertising – I’m having my doubts

I hate misleading advertising.  I really do.  And I don’t think I’m alone in that.  I’m also not that keen on hypocrisy.  And trying to figure out mixed messages has never been my idea of fun.

Lately, in driving around and previewing homes with clients, we see these riders that say “$8,000 Tax Credit Available”, or “You may qualify for $8,000 Home Buyer Credit”.  And today, as I’m driving home from the office, on the radio I hear a Realtor ad talking about how “it’s time to take advantage of the $8,000 Home Buyer Credit before it expires.”

As Realtors, didn’t we have to take an ethics class?  How ethical is it that real estate companies and even the Realtor Association is putting out these teaser ads which I’m finding I have to explain as not being completely true.

It’s Not a Home Buyer Tax Credit.  It’s a First Time Home Buyer Tax Credit.  Would it be that hard to add two truthful words to these ads?

It may seem minor on the face of it.  But it’s not a minor thing when your credibility with a client is diminished by misleading ads that really appear to be just an attempt to get anybody breathing through the door.  As Realtors we have enough negative perception to fend off, surely it’s not a smart move to validate this with anything less than completely honest advertising.

2 Comments

  1. Micha said,

    June 16, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    I guess it’s really what people do. Ethical or not, I think sometimes people are willing to go the extra mile to ensure they get a sale.

  2. Assundardaf said,

    May 2, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    If you are a real estate professional, be really careful in dealing with KoRes Corp. in Weston Florida. Tulio Rodriguez & Monica Cataluna-Shand are shysters and look for anyway to steal ones customers. They attempt to steal your client by requesting their contact information and later contact them behind your back to get them to deal with them directly.


Leave a Reply

